Top Five Walt Disney Resort Stories


Big news or big let down?

With the year winding down the official Disney Blog has declared their top five stories of the year. Those top five stories of the year? The 40th anniversary of the Magic Kingdom, a meet and greet under development with Mickey where the big cheese actually speaks, the Avatar expansion, a behind the scenes look at the construction of Beast’s castle in Fantasyland and the installation of Nemo icons the Art of Animation resort.

The question I must ask is simple, “Is anyone else let down that these are the top five stories of 2011?”

Don’t get me wrong each of them is at least mildly exciting in their own way but Beast Castle and the Nemo icons are not really news. They are just updates of stories from previous years. Disney is just letting us know progress is being made. Now if either of these items were announcements that work was complete that might be news. But saying hey we painted a wall? Well that might be a slight exaggeration of what they announced but it isn’t far off is it? I am not saying it isn’t news worthy but a top story?

As for the 40th anniversary story its not like there was a major tie in event. Sure guests who were there that day received a few special items like pins and maps but again this is the best news you had in all of 2011?

And don’t get me started on the Avatar expansion. Grumpy does not claim that this isn’t worthy of top news status. It certainly is. Grumpy’s problem is this: He’s not sure if it’s good news or bad. Avatar does nothing for me. At all. If they wanted something based on a movie why not something that was an established series? Jurassic Park would have suited me better! But they have a Dinoland already I suppose. What about Middle Earth? If you want to compete against Harry Potter world I would put Gandalf up against anything Harry has to offer! Still, it is an expansion I guess and I look forward to seeing what comes of it. Disney just better hope the next two Avatar movies don’t bomb.

That just leaves one story to talk about: Talking Mickey Mouse! Okay I have to admit this one doesn’t thrill me personally. But hey I’m grumpy right? It is big news though and it is good news. For forty years Mickey has been greeting guests at the Magic Kingdom and never spoken a word to any of them personally. Now he’s going to strike up a conversation. While talking Mickey may not excite me too much I can understand what an effect this will have on the youngsters and if it makes them happy it makes me…well less grumpy I guess. And there is technology behind talking Mickey and that does excite me because we don’t know what else that technology may eventually be used for. Watch the video for a short glimpse of how this may end up working.

So there you have it. The grumpy report of the top five stories from Disney World in 2011. Your thoughts? Even if you don’t want to reply take the poll and let me know if I am way off track. If you want to read the official post from Disney click here.

About grumpydisney

Okay since I am a Disney addict and they don't have a twelve step program for Walt Disney World I will serve my addiction by blogging about the place I'd rather be!

Posted on December 28, 2011, in Polls, World News! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

