What is an E-ticket Ride


The coveted E Ticket. Notice what rides in each land required this prize of the Disney World.

Years and years ago when you went to Disney World you paid for admission and then bought tickets for the rides much as you would at the fair. That system is long gone at Disney World but it left it’s mark on our culture. It is from this system that the world got the phrase “E-Ticket Ride.”

When Disney Land opened in California there were three classes of tickets. Those were A, B and C. Each ride and attraction required a ticket that corresponded to one of the ticket classes. As new rides and attractions were upgraded the D ticket was introduced. Then came the E ticket ride.  E ticket rides were the best of the best. Click here for a ride breakdown for Disney Land provided by Just Disney.Com.

In 1971 Walt Disney World opened in Florida and used the same system of tickets. E ticket rides at Walt Disney World in the 70s were:

  • Pirates of the Caribbean
  • Jungle Cruise
  • Country Bear Jamboree
  • Haunted Mansion
  • Hall of Presidents
  • It’s a Small World
  • 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea
  • Space Mountain

While I understand why most of those were E Ticket Rides two do surprise me, namely the Hall of Presidents and It’s A Small World. To be honest I hate It’s A Small World but I ride it every time anyway and I don’t even remember the last time I did the Hall of Presidents. Of course It’s A Small World is always packed so I guess I understand it’s E Ticket status but the Hall of Presidents? Either way that was how it worked.

By 1982 the ride ticket system was gone. Competition had forced Disney to adopt the nearly all-inclusive pricing system which we have now. I am not sure we, the consumer save any money this way but it is a lot more convenient. We are not left carrying around a bunch of A and B tickets wishing we could combine them so we could ride space mountain but we do pay a hefty price.

Though the system may be gone we are still left with term. Now anything that is over-the-top cool, exiting or fun is referred to as an E-ticket Ride. In my next series of articles I will be reviewing some of those rides that were E Ticket at Disney World as well as some that definitely qualify as E Ticket but were built after the demise of the ticket book. What rides at Disney World make your E Ticket list?

About grumpydisney

Okay since I am a Disney addict and they don't have a twelve step program for Walt Disney World I will serve my addiction by blogging about the place I'd rather be!

Posted on November 23, 2011, in Animal Kingdom, EPCOT, Hollywood Studios, Magic Kingdom, Rides and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I found your blog on yahoo and can bookmark it currently. carry on the nice work.

  2. Thank you for such well researched information.

  3. Helpful info. Fortunate me I found your site by accident, and I’m surprised why this accident didn’t came about in advance! I bookmarked it.

  4. Whats up! I simply wish to give a huge thumbs up for the good info you’ve got here on this post. I might be coming back to your blog for extra soon.

  1. Pingback: Elektrische Zahnbuerste

Leave a Reply

