Pandora Destroying the Environment To Bring Us An Environmental Message?


Okay I have never been a fan of the Pandora expansion. I did not care for the movie. I could not even force myself to watch the movie. Still it is an expansion in what is probably my favorite park in the world and that has to be good right?

Not so fast. According to rumors found at wdwnews.today.com that expansion may be taking out one of the most informative and interactive sections of the Animal Kingdom, Rafiki’s Planet Watch.

Rafiki’s Planet Watch is certainly not high on most peoples list of must-sees but it is an important part of what I consider the overarching theme of preserving our planet.

Nature was something Walt was interested in. In 1948 the True Life Adventures series of movies began. The focus of this series was to educate people in an entertaining fashion and though they may not have been perfect and later became controversial in some of their approaches they were evidence of Walt’s love of nature.

After Walt’s death you had two major movies heavily laden with environmental messages, The Lion King and Pocahontas. You just can’t escape the Disney companies attempt to educate us about the importance of living with our planet and not just on it.

The Logo for Disney Nature....notice that iceberg looks a lot like a castle? Somethings I guess even Disney cannot completely get rid of.

If that was not enough the Walt Disney Company launched a whole new and independent film label, Disney Nature. As the name suggests Disney Nature was designed to educate us again. To date four movies have been released with two more in the planning/filming stages.

Of course the whole Animal Kingdom is dedicated to both teaching and entertaining. I love learning more and more about the animals I live with and how I can contribute to their well-being. The best place to do that is the Planet Watch. Here I can get tips on how I can build an animal friendly environment. I can learn more about animals in an up-close and personal experience. I can watch the cameras to see animals all over the park. I can watch veterinary procedures being carried out. (I once saw a procedure on a giant tortoise from while part of the Backstage Safari!).

So why would an eco-friendly park replace its most eco-friendly area with Avatar? I know you say it’s an eco-friendly film but still. The Animal Kingdom is the largest of the parks by far though most of the area is “backstage”. There is an empty land already, Camp Minnie Mickey. In fact this land was meant to be the Beastly Kingdomme. Of course that went by the wayside due to budget reasons and Camp Minnie Mickey was thrown up in its place. But what does the Camp offer? One show and character greetings? While I would hate to the the Festival of the Lion King go I have no problem seeing the character greetings moved. There is no intrinsic value in them being where they are. Move them on and let Pandora take their place!

What are your thoughts?


About grumpydisney

Okay since I am a Disney addict and they don't have a twelve step program for Walt Disney World I will serve my addiction by blogging about the place I'd rather be!

Posted on November 23, 2011, in Home. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Greetings! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when viewing from my iphone. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to correct this issue. If you have any recommendations, please share. With thanks!

Leave a Reply

